Department of Crop Production


The Department of Crop Production started in 1984/85 session with only 7 students who graduated in 1988.  The second batch of students that graduated in 1989 numbered 9.  The third batch graduated in 1990 numbering 10.  The fifth batch graduated in 1992 with 7 students, while those of 1996 and 1997 were 13 and 14 respectively.  Subsequently, from 1998 to 2003, the number of graduates was 85.  With the Department drive to increase intake figure, it is hoped that the number of graduating students will increase tremendously in the coming years. The Faculty of Agriculture moved from Yelwa Campus to Gubi Campus in January 2010.


The department offered courses for both undergraduate and post graduate. The degree awarded by the department is B. Agric. Tech. (Hons). In addition to undergraduate courses, the department offers postgraduate courses in both M.Sc. and PhD. in relevant fields. The department offers M.Sc. and PhD. courses in Agronomy, Plant Breeding and Genetics, Agric Entomology, Plant Pathology and Soil Science.